Digital Learning Commons: Ancient Egypt: Home

Books

Life in Ancient Egypt by Thomas Streissguth
Examines ancient Egypt and how its politics, daily activities, art, religion, and social structures worked together to form Egyptian culture.
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Geraldine Harris
Offers information about Egyptian gods, goddesses, mummies, pyramids, kings, queens, life-style, customs, and family life.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Egypt by A. Rosalie David
Discusses the history and current information on Egyptology, including the geography of Ancient Egypt, funerary customs, architecture, and everyday life.

General Resources

Ancient Egypt
Great overview of all things ancient Egypt!
Citation...Hide...
Ikram, Salima. "Egypt, Ancient." World Book Advanced, World Book, 2018,
www-worldbookonline-com.ursus-proxy-10.ursus.maine.edu/advanced/article?id=ar175060.
Ancient Egypt (Ancient History Encyclopedia)
Comprehensive overview of ancient Egypt. Provides related articles, recommended external resources, books, and multimedia.
Citation...Hide...
Mark, Joshua J. “Ancient Egypt.” Ancient History Encyclopedia, 2 Sept. 2009, www.ancient.eu/egypt/.
Ancient Egypt (BBC)
Overview of ancient Egypt including daily life, beliefs, the pyramids, and much more.
Echoes of Egypt: Conjuring the Land of the Pharaohs
A great resource from Yale's Peabody Museum of Natural History. Contains information on mummies, hieroglyphs, and general history of ancient Egypt.
Egypt's Golden Empire
Resources provided by PBS including a timeline, virtual library, and information on hieroglyphics.
Egyptology Resources
Very comprehensive guide for ancient Egypt. Includes resources from all over the world.
The History of Egypt Podcast
The story of Egypt, from creation to the fall of Rome, told through a series of podcasts.
How Ancient Egypt Shaped the Modern World
Check out ancient Egypt's contributions to the modern world, from language to farming to health.
Citation...Hide...
“How Ancient Egypt Shaped the Modern World.” Ancient Code, www.ancient-code.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/ancient-egyptian-inventions.jpg.

Highly Recommended | Primary Source | Multimedia | Podcast | Infographic

Digital Maine Library | World Book Encyclopedia | College Level

Databases

Research your topic using the Digital Maine Library databases to find scholarly, authoritative, and accurate resources.

Reader - spo10471 - ppwh

Search tips and strategies can be found HERE. Need additional help? Stop by the LC and talk to Mr. Brough!