Digital Learning Commons: Mental Health: Additional Resources

If you'd like to learn even more about depression and/or anxiety, search through some of our various databases. Here, you can find newspaper and magazine articles, encyclopedic information, and additional websites. Below are recommended databases to explore:

Britannica Online School Edition The original encyclopedia! Provides current information on just about everything you can imagine: people, places, events...things. Also contains a thesaurus, dictionary, and atlases.
Explora for High School Explora for High Schools includes ERIC, Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, Middle Search Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Health Source-Consumer Edition, Military and Government Collection, MAS Ultra-School Edition, Business Source Complete, Literary Reference Center, GreenFILE, Academic Search Complete, Topic Overviews 6-12 and the statewide EBSCO and Project Gutenberg e-book collections.
Newspapers (ProQuest) Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.

To get started, try searching for phrases like TEEN DEPRESSION or ADOLESCENT ANXIETY. Also try searching for any of the key terms found throughout this guide (OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER, PANIC ATTACKS, GENERALIZED ANXIETY DISORDER, etc).

Recommended Books

Guts by Raina Telgemeier
ISBN: 9780545852500
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
This true story from Raina Telgemeier focuses on her experience as a young person living with anxiety with her trademark warmth, humor, and honesty.
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Call Number: FIC CHB
Charlie, a freshman in high school, explores the dilemmas of growing up through a collection of letters he sends to an unknown receiver.
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Call Number: FIC AND / Audio
A traumatic event near the end of the summer has a devastating effect on Melinda's freshman year in high school. Includes bonus material and a new forward by the author.
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Call Number: FIC NIV
Told in alternating voices, when Theodore Finch and Violet Markey meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, both teetering on the edge, it's the beginning of an unlikely relationship, a journey to discover the "natural wonders" of the state of Indiana, and two teens' desperate desire to heal and save one another.
Looking for Alaska by John Green
Call Number: FIC GRE / OverDrive
Sixteen-year-old Miles' first year at Culver Creek Preparatory School in Alabama includes good friends and great pranks, but is defined by the search for answers about life and death after a fatal car crash.
Quintessence by Jess Redman
ISBN: 9780374309763
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Three months ago, twelve-year-old Alma moved to the town of Four Points. Her panic attacks started a week later, and they haven't stopped--even though she's told her parents that they have. She finds a telescope in the town's junk shop, and through its lens, she watches a star--a star that looks like a child--fall from the sky and into her backyard. Alma knows what it's like to be lost and afraid, to long for home, and she knows that it's up to her to save the star.

It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
Call Number: FIC VIZ / OverDrive
New York City teenager Craig Gilner succumbs to academic and social pressures at an elite high school and enters a psychiatric hospital after attempting suicide.
Impulse by Ellen Hopkins
Call Number: FIC HOP
Three teens who meet at Reno, Nevada's Aspen Springs mental hospital after each has attempted suicide connect with each other in a way they never have with their parents or anyone else in their lives.
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Call Number: FIC ASH / OverDrive / OverDrive Audio
When high school student Clay Jenkins receives a box in the mail containing thirteen cassette tapes recorded by his classmate Hannah, who committed suicide, he spends a bewildering and heartbreaking night crisscrossing their town, listening to Hannah's voice recounting the events leading up to her death.
My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
Call Number: FIC WAR
Seventeen-year-old Aysel's hobby--planning her own death--takes a new path when she meets a boy who has a similar plan of his own.
The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead
ISBN: 9781101938096
Publication Date: 2020-04-07
After her parents' divorce, Bea, who lives with anxiety, starts a list to remember the things that will stay the same. The first and most important: Mom and Dad will always love Bea, and each other. When Dad tells Bea that he and his boyfriend, Jesse, are getting married, Bea is thrilled. Bea loves Jesse, and when he and Dad get married, she'll finally (finally!) have what she's always wanted--a sister.

Podcasts

(click to launch iTunes)

A podcast where everyday people share stories about depression, anxiety, trauma, mental illness, and any pain that feels too taboo to talk about elsewhere.

(click to launch iTunes)

Hosted by Cristen and Caroline, Stuff Mom Never Told You is the audio podcast from HowStuffWorks. In this episode they tackle the topic of OCD.