Skip to Main Content



The Executive Branch


The Executive branch consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land.


The President is both the head of state and head of government of the United States of America, and is the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The Executive branch also includes the Vice President, the Executive Office of the President and the Cabinet.