Visit getepic.com/students and log in with the class code wtt8334 to access Epic! books. Epic! is only available during regular school hours.

Visit jlg.ipublishcentral.com and sign in with the username JLGMID and password JLGFREE.

Scribd is offering a 30-day free trial with no payment method required.

Audible is offering a selection of their audiobooks for listeners for free. No sign in or account required. Just click the link.

These sites offer ebooks and other resources to download or read online. Many of the sources are public domain, Creative Commons, or open source books; others are under copyright, but have been published for free online by their creators for personal use.

Classics

• The Online Books Page: The University of Pennsylvania hosts this book search and database.
• Project Gutenberg: Tens of thousands of free books in English, Portuguese, French, and German.
• Classic Reader: Online library of thousands of free books by authors such as Dickens, Austen, Shakespeare and many others.
• Read Print: From George Orwell to Alexandre Dumas to George Eliot to Charles Darwin, this online library is stocked with the best classics.
• Bartleby: Bartleby has much more than just the classics, but its collection of anthologies and other important novels made it famous.
• Open Culture: Free ebooks, audiobooks, textbooks, language lessons, and more.
• Kindle: Free classics and others available for Amazon Kindle.

Textbooks

• Wikibooks: Nearly 3,000 open source textbooks on a variety of topics.
• MIT Open Courseware Supplemental Resources: Free videos, textbooks and more on the subjects of mechanical engineering, mathematics, chemistry and more.

Children's Books

• ByGosh: Free illustrated children’s books and stories.
• International Children's Digital Library: Over 4,600 children's books in 59 languages.
• Epic! Unlimited: Free access to thousands of books for teachers (for school use only).
• DK Find Out!: Online encyclopedia for kids.
• Toon Book Read: Read graphic novels for kids from Toon Books online.
• Storyline Online: Videos of celebrities reading picture books aloud.

Philosophy, Religion, & Folklore

• Ideology.us: Works by Rene Descartes, Sigmund Freud, Karl Marx, David Hume and others.
• Internet Sacred Text Archive: Freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric.
• Twilit Grotto: Archives of Western Esoterica: Renaissance era grimoires, esoteric texts, and occult philosophy.
• Buddhist e-Library: A variety of ebooks related to different Buddhist traditions and practices.
• Access to Insight: Library of readings related to Theravada Buddhism.
• Al-Islam.org: Over 1500 free books and articles about Islam and the Muslim people.
• Sefaria: Jewish texts in English and Hebrew.
• Perseus Digital Library: Tufts’ Perseus Digital Library features titles from Ancient Rome and Greece, published in English and original languages.
• Icelandic Saga Database: Online resource dedicated to the digital publication of the Sagas of the Icelanders.

Drama, Poetry, & Art

• The Complete Works of William Shakespeare: Shakespeare's plays and poetry provided by MIT.
• MetPublications: Five decades of Met publications on art history.
• Google Poetry: Google Books has a large selection of poetry, fromThe Canterbury Tales to Beowulf to Walt Whitman.
• Poetry Foundation: Search over 40,000 poems by subject, occasion, school/period, or keywords.
• Poets.org: Search over 6,500 poems by occasion, theme, and form, or search by keyword or poet’s name.
• Go Into The Story: Over 100 contemporary movie scripts downloadable as PDF.

More

• LibriVox: Free public domain audiobooks.
• Lit2Go: Free online collection of stories and poems in audiobook format with full text and PDF available for download.
• World Digital Library: Over 14,000 items from 190 countries.

Portions of this list adapted from "Free Books: 100 Legal Sites to Download Literature," http://iheartintelligence.com/2014/08/31/free-books-100-legal-sites-download-literature/.