Skip to main content

 

If you'd like to learn even more about depression and/or anxiety, search through some of our various databases. Here, you can find newspaper and magazine articles. Below are recommended databases to explore:

  • General OneFile (Gale) A one-stop source for news and magazine articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale) Find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Includes 700+ videos from a consumer health video library.
  • Psychology Collection (Gale) Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Contains content of interest to both researchers and general users.
  • U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) Provides access to the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

To get started, try searching for phrases like TEEN DEPRESSION or ADOLESCENT ANXIETY. Also try searching for any of the key terms found throughout this guide (OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER, PANIC ATTACKS, GENERALIZED ANXIETY DISORDER, etc).

 Recommended Books

 

Podcasts

(click to launch iTunes)

A podcast where everyday people share stories about depression, anxiety, trauma, mental illness, and any pain that feels too taboo to talk about elsewhere.

(click to launch iTunes)

Hosted by Cristen and Caroline, Stuff Mom Never Told You is the audio podcast from HowStuffWorks. In this episode they tackle the topic of OCD.