Digital Learning Commons: Unsung Heroes of the American Civil Rights Movement: Activists / Black Panthers

Activists

Fred Shuttlesworth (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
Manis, Andrew. “Fred Lee Shuttlesworth.” Encyclopedia of Alabama, Alabama Humanities Foundation, 2 Nov. 2018, www.encyclopediaofalabama.org/article/h-1093.
Civil Rights Activist Rev. Fred Shuttlesworth on Bombings and Beatings in 1950s Birmingham
Rev. Fred Shuttlesworth, one of the founders of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference and the leading civil rights figure in Birmingham, Alabama, discusses the violence he suffered in 1955 and 1957 in an archival videotaped interview.

James Meredith (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Meredith, James Howard.” The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute, Stanford University, 27 Apr. 2018, kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/meredith-james-howard.
Integrating Ole Miss
Comprehensive site that covers James Meredith's fight to enroll and integrate the University of Mississippi.

Frank Smith, Jr. (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Frank Smith.” SNCC Digital Gateway, SNCC Legacy Project and Duke University, snccdigital.org/people/frank-smith/.
Frank Smith's Journey from Civil Rights Activist to Civil War Curator
Thirty years after he left the South, Frank Smith helped establish the African American Civil War Memorial and Museum in Northwest Washington. It honors the war’s 209,000 black military personnel.
Citation...Hide...
Thomas-Lester, Avis. “Frank Smith's Journey from Civil Rights Activist to Civil War Curator.” Ebony, Ebony, 4 Aug. 2016, www.ebony.com/black-history/frank-smith-civil-war-museum/.

Pauli Murray (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Pauli Murray Project.” Pauli Murray Project, Franklin Humanities Project, https://www.paulimurraycenter.com/who-is-pauli.
The Many Lives of Pauli Murray
She was an architect of the civil-rights struggle—and the women’s movement. Why haven’t you heard of her?
Citation...Hide...
Schulz, Kathryn. “The Civil-Rights Luminary You've Never Heard Of.” The New Yorker, The New Yorker, 10 April 2017, www.newyorker.com/magazine/2017/04/17/the-many-lives-of-pauli-murray.

Daisy Bates (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Bates, Daisy.” The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute, Stanford University, 5 Apr. 2018, kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/bates-daisy.
Chronicles Of Black Courage: The Little Rock 10
In 1957, nine African American pupils were integrated into the Arkansas public school system for the first time. Perhaps never given the credit she deserved for her tireless and courageous effort in the integration was Daisy Bates, president of the state NAACP.
Citation...Hide...
Bennett, Lerone, Jr. "Chronicles of black courage: the Little Rock 10." Ebony, vol. 53, no. 2, Dec. 1997, p. 132+. Gale In Context: High School, https://link-gale-com.wv-o-ursus-proxy10.ursus.maine.edu/apps/doc/A20060496/GPS?u=maine&sid=GPS&xid=91f77ac8.

Diane Nash (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Nash, Diane Judith.” The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute, Stanford University, 5 June 2018, kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/nash-diane-judith.
Diane Nash: 'Non-violent protest was the most important invention of the 20th century'
She led the lunch counter protests and organised the Freedom Riders in the 60s. What does civil rights veteran Diane Nash think of today’s campaigners?
Citation...Hide...
Lartey, Jamiles. “Diane Nash: 'Non-Violent Protest Was the Most Important Invention of the 20th Century'.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 6 Apr. 2017, www.theguardian.com/global-development-professionals-network/2017/apr/06/diane-nash-non-violent-protest-civil-rights-gandhi-martin-luther-king.

Fred Gray (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Gray, Fred David, Sr.” The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute, Stanford University, 24 Apr. 2018, kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/gray-fred-david-sr.
Changemakers: Fred Gray, A Titan of the Civil Rights Movement
Civil rights attorney Fred Gray, a Montgomery native, is a titan of the civil rights movement who has played a key role in some of the biggest court decisions that have had a major impact, not just on the state of Alabama, but the entire country.

Ruby Bridges (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
Michals, Debra. “Ruby Bridges.” National Women's History Museum, National Women's History Museum, 2015, www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/ruby-bridges.
Ruby Bridges Desegregates a School
On the road to Civil Rights, even children became public figures, such as six-year-old Ruby Bridges, who integrated an all-white elementary school in New Orleans on November 14, 1960.

Black Panthers

27 Important Facts Everyone Should Know About The Black Panthers
The Black Panther Party was founded 50 years ago ― and still, many misconceptions about its revolutionary work run rampant. Here are a few important things you must know to better understand the Black Panthers.
Citation...Hide...
Workneh, Lilly, and Taryn Finley. “27 Important Facts Everyone Should Know About The Black Panthers.” The Huffington Post, TheHuffingtonPost.com, 19 Feb. 2018, www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/27-important-facts-everyone-should-know-about-the-black-panthers_us_56c4d853e4b08ffac1276462.
Black Panther Party
Good overview on the Black Panther Party, from its origin to its lasting legacy.
Citation...Hide...
Hamilton, Charles V. "Black Panther Party." World Book Advanced, World Book, 2018, www-worldbookonline-com.ursus-proxy-10.ursus.maine.edu/advanced/article?id=ar062755. Accessed 12 Sept. 2018.

Bobby Seale (Biography)
Huey Newton: Twenty-Five Floors From the Street
1972 Rolling Stone long form interview and article about Black Panther co-founder Huey Newton on life after imprisonment, the civil rights movement, and more.
Citation...Hide...
Findley, Tim. “Huey Newton: Twenty-Five Floors From the Street.” Rolling Stone, 3 Aug. 1972, www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-news/huey-newton-twenty-five-floors-from-the-street-176820/.
Fred Hampton (Biography)

More Activists

Dion Diamond, A 1960 Civil Rights Warrior In The Suburbs
The inspiring story of Dion Diamond, a civil rights activist who took his charge against Jim Crow right into the heart of the nation's capitol.
Citation...Hide...
Cox, Savannah. “Dion Diamond, A 1960 Civil Rights Warrior In The Suburbs.” All That's Interesting, All That's Interesting, 31 Jan. 2018, allthatsinteresting.com/dion-diamond-civil-rights-sit-in-suburbs.
Dion Diamond Oral History Interview
Dion Diamond discusses his activism and experiences during the Civil Rights Movement.
Citation...Hide...
“Dion Diamond Oral History Interview.” Library of Congress, 13 Dec. 2015, https://www.loc.gov/item/2016655423/.

Amelia Boynton Robinson (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Amelia Boynton.” SNCC Digital Gateway, Duke University, snccdigital.org/people/amelia-boynton/.
Defiance Defined Her
She was a woman frozen in time, her unmoving body, captured in grainy black-and-white snapshots, sprawled at the base of the Edmund Pettus Bridge during the 1965 march for voting rights in Selma, Ala.
Citation...Hide...
Hannah-Jones, Nikole. "Defiance Defined Her." The New York Times Magazine, 27 Dec. 2015, p. 26(L). Gale In Context: High School, https://link-gale-com.wv-o-ursus-proxy10.ursus.maine.edu/apps/doc/A438475468/GPS?u=maine&sid=GPS&xid=fe876c72.

Sheyann Webb: Pigtails and Protests
Named the “smallest freedom fighter” by Dr. Martin Luther King himself, Sheyann Webb was just 8 years old when she joined the Civil Rights Movement and made the historic Selma to Montgomery March that led to the Voting Rights Act of 1965.
Interview with Sheyann Webb
Filmed interview with Sheyann Webb conducted for Eyes on the Prize. Discussion centers on growing up in segregated Alabama and the Selma voting rights campaign.

Ralph Abernathy (Biography)
Citation...Hide...
“Abernathy, Ralph David.” The Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute, Stanford University, 25 Apr. 2018, kinginstitute.stanford.edu/encyclopedia/abernathy-ralph-david.
Interview with Reverend Ralph Abernathy
Interview of the Reverend Ralph Abernathy conducted for Eyes on the Prize. Discussion centers on the Montgomery bus boycott, the March on Washington, and Rev. Abernathy's time working with Dr. Martin Luther King in SCLC.