An ever-evolving online textbook on all aspects of the American Revolution.

A list of links/resources covering a wide variety of American Revolution topics.

Tons of links to scholarly books and essays on the American Revolution.

From History.com. Lots of great information on the American Revolution including video.

From the George Washington Presidential Library. Lots of excellent information on terms, battles, and people from the American Revolution.

The leading source of knowledge about the American Revolution and Founding. Appealing to scholars and enthusiasts alike, it features meticulous, groundbreaking research and well-written narratives from scores of expert writers.

Scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key areas include governmental policies, socio-economic effects of war, structure of the armed forces, and more.

A noted historian debunks the conventional wisdom about America’s War of Independence.

Howard Zinn's critical history of the American Revolution against British rule and its impact on ordinary people.

This engraved infographic from 1871 shows the major events of the Revolutionary War, and some beautiful subtle additions.

In 1775, war broke out between the British and the American colonists. By 1776, the colonists had declared themselves independent and in 1783, following a prolonged and bloody war, Britain was forced to recognise the independence of the United States. Was American independence inevitable?

A reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links and more.

Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750 to 1789

Great resource that explores the role of spies during the American Revolution. Includes letters, methods, routes, and more. Highly recommend!

Collection of thousands of pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles pertaining to the "Origin, Settlement, and Progress of the Colonies in North America" from the Revolutionary Era.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the American Revolution, including manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, and maps.

Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever. This collection unites copies of the lost files in a digital archive that reconstitutes this invaluable historical resource.

Contains many important documents from the Revolutionary War Era including state constitutions, passed acts, resolutions, and more.

Loads of primary sources/documents pertaining to America's war for independence, from rebellion to the ratification of the constitution.