Digital Learning Commons: Ancient Greece: Arts & Architecture

The Muses

MUSE	DOMAIN	SYMBOLS
Calliope	Epic poetry	Writing tablet, Stylus, Lyre
Clio	History	Scrolls, Books, Cornet, Laurel wreath
Erato	Love poetry	Cithara (an ancient Greek musical instrument in the lyre family)
Euterpe	Music, song, and lyric poetry	Aulos (an ancient Greek musical instrument like a flute), panpipes, laurel wreath
Melpomene	Tragedy	Tragic mask, Sword (or any kind of blade), Club, Kothornos (boots)
Polyhymnia	Hymns	Veil, Grapes
Terpsichore	Dance	Lyre, Plectrum
Thalia	Comedy	Comic mask, Shepherd's crook (the vaudeville act of pulling someone off the stage with a hook is a reference to Thalia's crook), Ivy wreath
Urania	Astronomy	Globe and compass

Links: Ancient Greek Art, Architecture, & Music

Ancient Greek art
Brief summary of Ancient Greek art, particularly pottery, from DK Find Out.
What do we know about ancient Greek culture?
Illustrated introduction to Ancient Greek arts including pottery, architecture, sculpture, and artistic festivals from BBC Bitesize.
Ancient Greek Art
Article from History.com which provides an overview of Ancient Greek arts including architecture, sculpture, and pottery.
Art and Architecture in Ancient Greece
An article on Ancient Greek art and architecture from Newsela.
Greek Art and Architecture
A short article from Artsy.com about art and architecture in Ancient Greece, and a great collection of images of Ancient Greek statures, pottery, jewelry and more from museums around the world!
Ancient Greek music: now we finally know what it sounded like
Article by Armand D'Angour, Associate Professor in Classics, University of Oxford about performing Ancient Greek music today (includes videos).
Music in Ancient Greece
Brief essay about music in Ancient Greece from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Google Arts & Culture: Greece
Museum collections, stories, and images related to Greece available on Google Arts & Culture.
Greek Collection Highlights
Highlights from the Greek Collection at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston.
Open Access at The Met
The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York offers a huge collection of images from its collection free to use, including about 20,000 artifacts from Ancient Greece.
Introduction to Greek architecture
An article from Khan Academy on Greek architecture which includes structures such as temples, theaters, civic buildings, houses, fortifications, and more.