Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
These books are written specifically for teachers interested in integrating comics into their teaching, some are general, while others are focused specifically on the English Language Arts classroom, content areas, or English Language Learners. These books are available through the MaineCat Statewide Catalog.
The Graphic Novel Classroom by
Secondary language arts teacher Maureen Bakis discovered this powerful pedagogy in her own search to engage her students. This all-encompassing resource includes teaching and learning models, text-specific detailed lesson units, and examples of student work.
Building Literacy Connections with Graphic Novels by
Carter and his contributors tap into the growing popularity of graphic novels in this one-of-a-kind guidebook. Each chapter presents practical suggestions for the classroom as it pairs a graphic novel with a more traditional text or examines connections between multiple sources.
Wham! Teaching with Graphic Novels Across the Curriculum by
This practical guide shows secondary school teachers how to incorporate graphic novels into content area instruction as a tool for meeting the needs of diverse learners and achieving the goals of the Common Core State Standards. The authors provide instructional guidelines with classroom examples that demonstrate how graphic novels can be used to expand content knowledge and literacy in science, social studies, math, and English/language arts.
Reviews and Book Lists
The Eisner Awards are an annual industry award that includes awards for Best Publication for Kids (ages 9–12) and Best Publication for Teens (ages 13–17).
Good Comics for Kids
Blog series from School Library Journal.
YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens
Great Graphic Novels for Teens is a list of recommended graphic novels and illustrated nonfiction for those ages 12-18, prepared yearly by the Young Adult Library Services Association.
Links & Resources
Comics in Education
Devoted to examining the use of visual narrative in the K-12 classroom and beyond.
Comics in Education
Gene Luen Yang is a high school teacher, award-winning cartoonist, and National Ambassador for Young People's Literature.
Comics in the Curriculum
Exhibit from Columbia University Libraries.
News, lesson plans, and teaching strategies.
Making Comics presentation slides from the Comics Conference for Educators and Librarians at 2016 San Diego ComicCon.
No Flying No Tights
Run by and for librarians. Reviews for all age levels, core collection lists, read-alikes, and interviews with creators. Updated daily.
Reading with Pictures
Includes teaching materials, reviews, and research to support the teaching of comics in classrooms.
Center for Cartoon Studies
This page both archives teaching content from National Association of Comics Art Educators, along with dozens of additional teaching comics resources for all ages developed by The Center for Cartoon Studies community.
Research Guides & Bibliographies
Comics in Education - Annotated Bibliography
Bibliography on the use of comics, comic strips, and graphic novels in the EFL/ESL classroom.
ComicsResearch.org primarily covers book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research.
Comics Research Bibliography
This is an international bibliography of comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, cartoons, bandes dessinees, and related topics. We have divided the bibliography into four sections, arranged alphabetically by author, for ease of use.
Graphic Novels and Comics Guide
Research guide from Mississippi State University Libraries for for educators who use graphic novels in their classrooms, include them in their lesson plans and assignments, or simply want to learn more about this format.
NYU Libraries: Graphic Novels and Comics
A guide for students and researchers interested in comics and graphic novels
University of Michigan: Comic Books and Graphic Novels
Provides useful information about comic books and graphic novels as topics of academic research at the University of Michigan.