Digital Learning Commons: Spanish: Language Help

Dictionaries

Forvo
Forvo is a pronunciation dictionary which features native speakers pronouncing tens of thousands of Spanish words.
Lexico Spanish
Lexico Spanish is a English to Spanish dictionary, thesaurus, and Spanish to English translator, and also includes articles and language learning tips.
Reverso Context
Reverso is a robust AI-powered translation and dictionary tool that provides pronunciation, contextual examples of word use and so much more!
SpanishDict
SpanishDict is much more than just a Spanish-English dictionary. SpanishDict also offers grammar, conjugation, and pronunciation tools and much more.
Verbix Verb Conjugator
Verbix is a non-profit organization that offers free web service for verb conjugation, along with cognates, translation, games, and more.

YouTube Channels

Butterfly Spanish
Launched in 2012, this popular Spanish learning channel has over 700,000 subscribers. Host Ana covers a variety of language and culture topics for learners at all levels.
Dreaming Spanish
Dreaming Spanish takes a lighthearted approach to teaching Spanish through authentic language use.
Easy Spanish
Easy Spanish features interviews with people on the streets in order to get to know the Spanish language as spoken in everyday life. Our episodes are subtitled in both Spanish and English.
Spanish and Go
Hosts Jim and May travel to different Spanish-speaking countries to bring viewers closer to experiencing the culture, meeting the locals, and appreciating the beauty of each country where Spanish is spoken.

Why learn Spanish?

How to Set Up a Language Journal

Check out this blog post by Chiazo on How to Set Up a Language Journal.

You will need:

composition book
highlighters
flashcard(s)
black ink pen

Language Apps

For students interested in extra practice and keeping their Spanish language skills sharp, the apps listed here are all freely available on the web or through a mobile app you may download to a personal device. Please note the some apps (such as Mango Languages or Pronunciator Language Learning) may require an external library card for free access.

Duolingo is a language learning app accessible through the Duolingo website or mobile app. Duolingo is free to use and also offers a Spanish podcast and short stories for reading practice.

Google Translate is a free digital translation service available on the web or mobile app. Google Translate can be a very useful tool, but remember not to rely on digital translation for your assignments (Ms. Schmearer will be able to tell)!

Mango Languages is a language learning service available on the web or through the Mango mobile app. Mango Languages is free to access with a Portland Public Library card.

Pronunciator Language Learning is a self-paced language learning program that includes audio lessons, interactive textbooks, intelligent flashcards, pronunciation analysis, phrasebooks, and quizzes. Pronunciator is available through the Digital Maine Library.

Reverso Context is an AI-powered translation and dictionary tool that provides pronunciation and contextual examples of word use and much, much more. Reverso is available on the web, as a Firefox browser extension, and as a mobile app for iOS and Android.

SpanishDict is a Spanish-English dictionary, but also offers grammar help, conjugation tools, pronunciation, vocabulary, and much more. SpanishDict is available on the web or as an app for your mobile device.

ConjuGato is a free app for iOS or Android that helps you practice and conjugate over 1,000 common Spanish verbs.

Infinite Spanish is a playful language learning game in outer space (no flashcards or multiple choice!). Infinite Spanish is available for iOS or Android.

Linguasorb offers Spanish learning resources on verbs, grammar, and vocabulary on their website, as well as the Spanish Verb app available for iOS or Android.

Beware Google Translate

Podcasts

Duolingo Podcast offers stories in easy-to-understand in Spanish. The Duolingo Podcast is available on the web, on Spotify, Google Podcasts, and Apple Podcasts.

Eat Your Spanish is an interactive Spanish learning podcast for kids and families. Eat Your Spanish is available on Apple Podcasts and Google Podcasts.

Coffee Break Spanish offers a large catalog of free conversational Spanish podcast. Coffee Break Spanish podcasts are available on their website, Spotify, YouTube, Apple Podcasts, and Google Podcasts.

Read In Spanish with Sora

Our Sora collection contains over 80 books in Spanish. Access them by logging into Sora and limiting your language preference to Spanish. Below are just a few examples of what you will find.

Cristiano Ronaldo by Brianna Battista
ISBN: 9781538348819
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
This book takes a close look at one of the greatest soccer players in the world right now. Ronaldo's story will inspire both the curious new soccer fans as well as those already bit by soccer mania.
Es un Jaguar! by Tessa Kenan
ISBN: 9781512441307
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Entra en el mundo de uno de los gatos más interesantes de la selva tropical. Este texto incluye fotos vívidas de jaguares que rondan por el suelo del bosque. Las preguntas de pensamiento crítico y un glosario de fotos proporcionan a los lectores los elementos básicos para la lectura de no ficción.
¡Zoom! Cómo Funcionan los Carros by Jennifer Prior
ISBN: 9781433344725
Publication Date: 2012-04-30
Let's take a spin in the fascinating world of cars! In this engaging, Spanish-translated nonfiction title, readers learn about cars of all kinds.