Digital Learning Commons: Digital Literacy: Inquiry Project Resources

Encyclopedias

Start Here: A general encyclopedia gives information on many topics. Encyclopedias are a good place to start a research process because they offer an overview of the topic.

Databases

Databases offer a collection of articles, reference sources, videos, audio, and more. Search using keywords, not natural language.

In Context: Middle School

Kiddle

Kiddle
Kiddle, a search engine for kids, includes an encyclopedia with in-depth articles.

Articles for Video Games

History of Video Games (Gale Reference)
Overview of the history of video games. Includes multiple sidebars like "Most Popular Gaming System."
Wireless Video Game Controller (How Everyday Products Are Made)
A description of how wireless video game controllers are made.
Four Stages of Video Game Development
An infographic explaining the process of creating a video game.

Social Media & Texting Articles

Social Media Overview
An overview of social media with links to articles, reference works, and more. If you are asking a question about social media, spend some time on this page.
Texting Overview
An overview including the history and pros and cons.
TikTok: Research Starter
An overview of the app and its history.

Electronics & Devices Articles

Cell Phones
A selection of resources about cell phones including an overview, articles, videos, and more. If you are researching cell phones, this is a good place to start.
Computer Chip (How Everyday Products are Made)
Explains how computer chips are manufactured.
Computer Touch Pad
Explains how computer touch pads are made.
Smartphones (Gale Reference)
An overview, including the history, of smartphones.
Smartphones (How Everyday Products Are Made)
An article about what smartphones are and how they are made.
Tablets (Gale Reference)
An overview of tablet computers.
iPhone Research Starter
An overview of the history and impact of the iPhone.

Internet Articles

Internet/WWW (World of Invention)
A history of the Internet and the World Wide Web.

Tech Companies Articles

Big Tech
A look at Alphabet (Google), Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Microsoft--the big 5 of technology--and the concerns and criticism around them.

Other Sources for Social Media & Texting

What Makes Things go Viral Online?
Children's Online Privacy Protection Act
Why do you have to be thirteen to get a social media account? This provision is why.
The History of Emoji in 5 Minutes
A recounting of the history of emoji.

Other Sources for Electronics & Devices

How Stuff Works
Try searching for a specific type of device here to find out how it works.

Other Sources for the Internet

Who Invented the Internet?
A history of the Internet including the technology and ideas that predated the technology we know today.
A Short History of the Internet
This history is not exactly short, but it is full of information about the development of the Internet.

Other Sources Tech Companies

The Founding of Apple Computers, Inc.
This research guide from the Library of Congress covers the history of Apple with links to additional resources.
The Apple I Microcomputer
From the National Museum of American History, this article gives a short history of the Apple Computer, including how it changed home computing.
Google: History & Facts
A comprehensive overview of the company from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Inquiry