Overview of the many aspects involving the Civil War. Includes videos, links to external resources, and more.

Informative infographic that visualizes the human cost of the Civil War.

Explore the faces, places and events of the U.S. Civil War through photographs, prints and drawings. The Prints & Photographs Division holds thousands of images relating to the Civil War, found in many different collections.

Fantastic resource that covers all things Civil War-related including battles, monuments, important people, and much more. Highly recommended.

Produced by today's foremost Civil War historians, this site contains a definitive list of over 325 topics that every student of the Civil War should study.

YouTube channel devoted to exploring Civil War sites in the modern world.

Highlights a diverse collection of free websites of primary sources for the study of the war. These websites include digitized newspaper archives for both the Union and Confederate sides of the struggle, collections of letters and diaries, digitized photographs, maps, and official records and dispatches from the battlefields.

First-hand participants – both common soldier and civilian – tell the story of their experience of the Civil War from their perspective; through letters, diaries, newspapers articles, and other authentic first-hand accounts.

From the Library of Congress, a searchable collection of Civil War photos.

A collection of Civil War photos capturing places, activities, people, and more.

Harper's Weekly was the most popular newspaper during the Civil War, and it featured stunning illustrations, and in depth stories on all the important people and events of the war.

Search through Civil War-era issues of the Richmond Daily Dispatch, a newspaper of Richmond, Virginia.

The Civil War in America assembles more than 200 unique items, many of which have never been seen by the public, to commemorate the sesquicentennial of this nation’s greatest military and political upheaval.

Emilie Davis was an African-American woman living in Philadelphia during the U.S. Civil War. This website is a transcription of Emilie’s three pocket diaries for the years 1863, 1864, and 1865. In them, she recounts black Philadelphians’ celebration of the Emancipation Proclamation, nervous excitement during the battle of Gettysburg, and their collective mourning of President Lincoln.