Contains links to over 100 websites containing information about Civil War records. It includes websites sorted by state, rosters, pension records, and much more.

Collection of photographs depicting Union soldiers from the Library of Congress.

Compiled by a Civil War Veteran from The Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies and a variety of other sources, Dyer's Compendium offers the most complete list of organizations mustered by the State and Federal Governments for service in the Union Army.

Learn about the different flags used by the North during the Civil War.

Nearly 620,000 Union and Confederate soldiers lost their lives. The armies needed men to refill rapidly declining ranks and used recruitment advertisements as a means to find them.

The issues of emancipation and military service were intertwined from the onset of the Civil War. News from Fort Sumter set off a rush by free black men to enlist in U.S. military units

Over 200,000 German and 150,000 Irish-born men volunteered to serve in Union armies.

While no battles took place on Californian soil, the state has a rich Civil War history. Learn more about the state of California during the Civil War with these ten facts.

Many people are unaware of the significant part that California and Californians played in this epic struggle. California’s involvement in the American Civil War came in the form of strategy, logistics, and politics.

Extensive resource that covers all aspects of California's involvement in the Civil War.

Connecticut has a remarkable Civil War history, and although it is a small state, it was in many ways instrumental to the Union’s survival.

On November 13 at a special session of the General Assembly, Colonel Dexter R. Wright, seconded by Colonel Benjamin S. Pardee, both from New Haven, proposed a bill authorizing Governor William A. Buckingham to organize regiments of “colored” infantry.

Primary source material from the Civil War era in Illinois. These materials include letters, diaries and reminiscences of Union soldiers. But they also include important documents, images, and other resources from the home front.

Contains a wealth of information on Illinois' role in the Civil War. Includes regiment rosters, photos, historical information, and more.

Great resource that touches on all aspects of Indiana's role in the Civil War. Includes primary documents, modern reflections, and links to other online resources.

Among Northern states, Indiana sent one of the highest percentages of young men and boys to battle for the Union Army during the Civil War.

There may have been only one battle in the State of Iowa during the Civil War but that doesn't mean the state and its people didn't play a significant role. More than 75,000 Iowans participated in the four bloodiest years of our nation’s history – the highest per capita on either side of the war.

Comprehensive resource on Iowan regimental information for those who in the Civil War.

A look at how the Civil War helped shape the newly defined state of Kansas.

Concise look at Kansas' role in the Civil with great links and resources to additional information.

These Kansas State Militia regiments are from the muster-in and muster-out rolls in the Kansas Adjutant General's records. The rolls list the soldier's name, regiment and company, commanding officers, rank, date and place of enlistment, date when mustered into active service, muster-out date, total days of active service, and sometimes other information.

Concise overview of of Maine's role in the Civil War.

Blog about the roles played by Maine and her sons and daughters in the Civil War.

Collection of free-to-access ebooks that cover Maine's role in the Civil War, people, regiments, and more.

A treasure trove of primary resources pertaining to Massachusetts' role in the Civil War. Includes letters, papers, photos, and more.

A comprehensive collection of information pertaining to soldiers, sailors and marines who served in Massachusetts units and regiments during the Civil War

Investigate various topics dealing with Minnesota's role in the Civil War. Includes information on people, regiments, and battles.

In partnership with the Minnesota Historical Society and to commemorate the 150th anniversary, this series of short films explore important Minnesota episodes in the American Civil War.

In the smoky twilight outside Gettysburg, several regiments from Alabama were fighting their way down a slope into a rocky creek bed. Union soldiers were fleeing in front of them. The Confederates were almost at their goal — to completely break the Union line and take a battery of big guns. But out of the smoke, a line of Minnesotans came running toward them, firing and charging with leveled bayonets.

“Battle-Born” Nevada famously won statehood in 1864 to help preserve the Union, but it was the Confederacy that initially claimed the land now known as Clark County.

A look into how Nevada became a state and its connection to the Civil War.

A look at New Hampshire's participation in the Civil War. Four stories include the fifth and second NH regiments, Thadius Lowe, Lincoln's balloonist, from Jefferson, NH, the third NH regimental band, and tales about the underground railroad.

Journalist Mike Pride has compiled 50 stories touching upon the universal themes and experiences of the war viewed through the lives of New Hampshire union soldiers and their families.

No Civil War battles were fought in New Jersey, but between 65,000 and 80,000 soldiers from the state fought for the Union and were "highly commended."

Online exhibition which explores the impact of the Civil War on the home front in New Jersey. Includes primary resources.

Treasure trove of information pertaining to New York and the Civil War. Includes regimental information, timelines, newspaper clippings, and more.

Opinion piece that looks into the events leading to the New York City riots during the Civil War.

From April 1861 to May 1865, the Civil War
raged from Pennsylvania to Florida and from Missouri to Arizona. When it was over, the
American Union was saved, slavery was ended – and Michigan played a key role in it all.

Histories of Michigan's Civil War regiments and personal accounts of wartime experiences began to be published even while the Civil War was being fought.

Although most of the American Civil War was fought outside of Ohio's borders, the Buckeye State played a huge role in determining the outcome. Hundreds of thousands of Ohioans fought for the Union, and many of the North's leading generals were from Ohio. Few would dispute that Ohio's contributions were vital in determining the Union victory.

Comprehensive resource that provides information on Ohio regiments, artillery, stories, and more.

A look at Oregon and its role in the Civil War. Includes primary resources.

More than 60,000 books have been written about the American Civil War, and 16,000 on Abraham Lincoln alone. Yet almost none deals with the Civil War in the Oregon Country or Lincoln's links with the region.

Photos and videos documenting Pennsylvania's role in the Civil War.

The importance of Pennsylvania’s role in the Civil War cannot be denied. Over 360,000 soldiers,
including 8,600 African Americans, fought for the preservation of the Union while valuable resources such as iron, steel, and agricultural products helped to sustain the effort.

In reality, the 'stereotypical' American Civil War, never existed. Not everyone 'North of the Mason-Dixon Line' were lovers of freedom and equality for African-Americans, neither were all Southerners ardent slave-holding secessionists. Certainly, the state of Pennsylvania was not exempt from this phenomenon.

A small online exhibit celebrating the 150th anniversary of Rhode Island's involvement in the Civil War. Includes letters, photos and more.

Resource documenting the story of Vermont's contributions to the war, and what happened to the participants during and after the war.

Vermont Civil War historian Howard Coffin discusses some of his new research about the role that Vermonters played at the Battle of Gettysburg, a pivotal Union victory.

Vermont soldiers in the Civil War wrote an enormous quantity of letters and diaries, of which many thousands have survived in libraries, historical societies, and in private hands. This collection represents a selection of letters and diaries.

Great resource that covers many aspects of Wisconsin's involvement and role in the Civil War.