Contains links to over 100 websites containing information about Civil War records. It includes websites sorted by state, rosters, pension records, and much more.

Collection of photographs depicting Confederate soldiers from the Library of Congress.

Learn about the different flags used by the South during the Civil War.

The American Civil War remains the most significant event in Alabama's history. Alabamians came to identify themselves not as Americans but as southerners, fiercely loyal to their Lost Cause. All of this was purchased with the lives of 600,000 Americans.

Nice website that provides historical information about Arkansas during the Civil War as well as providing primary documents.

When Florida became a state, it was considered a slave state. This was an important factor in Florida's part in the Civil War.

Great overview of Georgia's involvement and role in the Civil War. Contains links to further readings on other topics.

Detailed account of Atlanta's role in the Civil War.

In general histories of the war, the 54th Massachusetts Infantry is usually presented as being the first African-American regiment in the Union Army to experience the trial of combat. In fact, the 54th Massachusetts’ assault on Battery Wagner took place almost two months after the Louisiana Native Guards had stormed a similar Confederate fortification at Port Hudson, Louisiana. They were the first officially mustered black regiment to fight for the Union, as well as the only unit in the Union Army to have black officers as well as white.

A look at the journal of a Louisianan native from the Civil War era. Provides interesting and valuable insight into the events leading up to, and including, the war.

Video that examines the reasons behind Mississippi’s decision to secede from the United States, and the ramifications that action had on its citizens.

Although many major battles did not occur in North Carolina, the state played an important role during the American Civil War. Concise overview of the state's role during the Civil War.

Lots of information and resources concerning North Carolina's role in the Civil War. Includes primary sources.

From the Cherokee warriors of Thomas's Legion who fought for the Confederacy in the mountains to Malinda Blalock, one of the conflict's few known female soldiers to U.S. Colored Troops who fought for their freedom in the eastern part of the state, North Carolina has so many interesting Civil War stories to tell.

South Carolina had long been a symbol of disunion, secession, and defiance of authority; had been the first southern state to secede; and had been the site of the first shots of the war at Fort Sumter.

Noted South Carolina historian Dr. Walter Edgar discusses South Carolina and the Civil War, including secession, the start of the war, and the state's role.

Nice overview of Tennessee's role in the Civil War.

Ten-part series from PBS that explores many aspects of the Civil War's impact on Tennessee, from secession to reconstruction; battlefields to notable figures.

Although only one Texas family in four owned slaves, most Texans opposed any interference with the institution of slavery, which they believed necessary for the continued growth of the state.

Concise overview of Texas, its stance on secession, and the role the state played in the Civil War.

Great overview of Virginia's role in the Civil War. Includes summaries of key events, timelines, primary photos and documents, and suggested further reading suggestions.

Loads of information about Virginia during the Civil War as well as recommended links to additional resources.